Central IndiANAC Chapter

Central IndiANAC Chapter

(Last Updated 2007)

In 1991, four Registered Nurses who had various leadership positions within the HIV/AIDS health care and service communities in central Indiana assessed the need for a forum in which nurses who provide care to those with HIV could come together for support, networking and education.  Thus, an ANAC Chapter-in-Formation was created.  The four founders drew officers from a hat and began to recruit members.  Our main goals are consistent today – to provide support to one another as well as professional development.

Founding Members:
President-Ann Kurth
President Elect -Patrick Robinson
Secretary-Christine Balt
Treasurer-Anita Owen-Myers
Donna Dodson
Jane Kubilis

Chapter Presidents:
1993-1994 Ann Kurth
1994-1995 Christine Balt
1995-1996 Anita Owen-Myers
1996-1997 Christine Balt
1997-1998 Sheran Simo (Davis)
1998-2000 Dean Hensel
2000-2002 Sheran Simo
2002-2005 Chris Hughes
2005-07/05 Sheran Simo
07/05- 05/07 Erin Weah
06/07-2009  Helen Rominger

Significant Chapter Events:
1)    Three of Central IndiANAC’s Founding Members have gone on to become National Presidents
  • Ann Kurth 1995
  • Patrick Robinson 2003-2005
  • Christine Balt 2005-2007
2)    Multidisciplinary Day Conference on HIV Pathogenesis: New Concepts and Implications for Nursing Care – 09/1996 Attended by 27 participants.  Nurses & Social Work CE’s provided.

3)    Nursing 2000 Participation in Nursing Day at the Indianapolis Children’s Museum

4)    Member of Consortium of Indiana Nursing Organization 1996-2000

5)    Participant Indiana Cancer & Pain Initiative 1998-2000

6)    1998 – Christine Balt received the ANAC/Roxanne Scholarship in Palliative Care

7)    2001 – Bobbi Delon & Sheran Simo received the ANAC/Ortho Biotech Products, LP Anemia Scholarship

8)    2004 – Erin Weah & Heather Nixon Received Anemia Case Study Scholarship Awards

9)    2004 – Names Project Sponsor for display in Indianapolis, IN

10)    2004 – Erin Weah receives the ANAC/HIV Nursing Fellowship – Master’s Award.

11)    2005 – Beth Zwickl receives the ANAC/Frank Lamendola Achievement Award.

12)    2005 – Heather Nixon nominated for the ANAC/Spirit of Nursing Award.

13)    2007 – Central IndiANAC collaborates with MATEC and the Indiana University School of Nursing to bring both HIV/AIDS didactic and observational components to the Adult Nurse Practitioner and Family Nurse Practitioner programs at the School of Nursing.

14)    2007 – Central IndiANAC collaborates with MATEC, the Indiana University School of Medicine, and the BellFlower Sexually Transmitted Diseases Clinic to bring the First Annual Update on the Management of HIV/AIDS and STDs to Central Indiana.  Physician, nursing, social work, and pharmacy continuing education credits provided.

15)    Helen Rominger appointed to the CDC’s Medical Management Project (MMP) as a Provider Advisory Board  (PAB) Member, one of only 26 nationwide, one of only two nurse practitioners/nurses on the board.  The MMP is an enhanced surveillance project, which will be used to make future policy and funding recommendations on the national level.

Association of Nurses in AIDS Care 3538 Ridgewood Road, Akron, Ohio 44333-3122
tel: 800.260.6780 (toll free) 330.670.0101 (phone) fax: 330.670.0109 email: